Study Abroad!

Florence + Food + Fine Arts = FANTASTICO

Friday, January 12, 2007

Orientation and all that Jazz

After arriving i figured i would shower and such. but there was NOOOOO hot water. NONE. and no heat. so we got a housing person from SACI (which is a minute walk around the corner from our apartment) and she came and adjusted the water pressure and what not in the heater thing in my bathroom. we finally go hotwater and heat. later in the evening our landlord, Francesco came by to check on it becuase SACI had called him regarding the problem. he fiddled around with it, then insisted on getting nicole and i drinks. and since we were in our pjs, he was like "ill be back" and left. he came back in 15 minutes with a bottle of wine, a large bottle of beer, a 6pack of "coka" (coke) and a package of praline chocolate biscuits (which, ill have you know, were SOOOOO yummy). nicole and i went to dinner at some restaurant we found down a few streets. it was warm when i went to bed so i just slept in shorts and tshirt like i normally do..only to wake up in the middle of the night to put on flannal pants and a fleece and warm socks. i woke up in the morning to find out the heat and there was no hotwater. that night again, Francesco came by at 7 gave me money to buy wine while he went to check everything, and while Nicole kept an eye on him. he took us around the city after that. he came back and hung out with us...we didnt want to be rude and kick him out and didnt know how to do it and not sound rude or impolite so just let him talk to us about florence and tell us where things are.
Today we had inventory checks (housing people come to check what you have, whats damaged etc so we dont get fined at the end), intro art history tour of the city for 2.5 hours at 9am, a tour of useful places (post office, art store, markets (super overwhelming but fun), supermarkets, and other things), at somepoint the students in design classes (illustration, graphic/interior design, architecture) were taken to the design center so we know how to get there from the main SACI building. and now im just killing time before our lecture thing with a police officer or something...

the food is wonderful. ive been buying some food from the market so i can make dinner tonight. had a super tasty calzone for lunch!!
its really great. and the weather's not that bad! its rather warm. a light jacket, longsleeve and sweater is just enough!

more later!!!!

1 Comments:

Blogger Alka said...

Hi, Nan! I want to share your good food too. have you tried any vegetarian dishes yet? I am eager to see your photos :)

Sunday, January 14, 2007 1:13:00 AM  

Post a Comment

<< Home