Jan 13
You'd think that on a Saturday I might be able to sleep in....not really. Last night Francesco the Landlord came again...and again tried to hang out with us for 3 hours at a time. Nicole and I, however, positioned ourselves so that he couldn't really get past us to the sofa to sit. So he only acutally stayed 15 minutes (a new record!!) to check on the hotwater/heating stuff. He told us he had called the specialists and they would be coming between 10am and 2pm...which meant we had to be up and ready for them at 10....they arriced at 11:30ish. They did a lot of noisey things for about an hour but I think the problem is finally fixed and now our heat/hot water acutally works, the timer on the thermostat works, and we dont lose pressure in that machine thing that they fixed every few hours (which leads to no heat or hot water, and if there's too much pressure (above 2.5) my bathroom pools with water from the safety spout).
We also talked to Daniela, housing director, about our discomfort with Francesco spending so much time with us. We appriciate that he took the time to show us around the city with gelatto, getting us some wine for the apt (twice so far) and what not....but after a while it got a little too much...he's the landlord...probably 40ish...not my buddy. It was fine until the Italian kisses on the cheek when he left after the hour long tour. Firstly, when he came Thursday night to check the pressure, he asked us how we were and we both said we were tired and were ready to pass out after getting gelatto. So he checked the pressure and said he'd have to wait a few minutes before looking at it again to make sure it's not doing anything crazy, and some how in those few minutes he decided he was going to take us to a gelateria. So we went, cause it's not like we know a good one..turns out he didnt really either cause we just kinda walked around until we found an open one near San Lorenzo (which by the way, i know more about than Francesco does!). I expected that when we got back to the apartment, he could check the gauge and leave...but somehow he ended up chilling for another hour. At this point, I'm a little frustrated but didn't want to be rude in how I ask him to leave because his english is very basic. So i wait it out. Again as he was leaving he kissed us on the cheak and this time he's like "timida" to me...."very timida". By now I'm just uncomfortable and glad he's left. Nicole and I both agree to go to Daniela and tell her about our situation, which we did this morning. She called him and talked to him about it. So he didn't linger this time after the specialists left with their cases of instruments and gadgets.
AFter that we hung out at home for a little, then walked around the city, got better gelatto than the first time (i got nutella gelatto!! mmm yummy). walked around some more and i went to get some salami and oranges came back and made dinner before I got too tired to make anything. So i made some penne and made a sauce from tomatos, cut up salame, and pasta spices (pre mixed and sold in a packet) and kinda sauted it in olive oil. then added ricotta. It was pretty damn good!
I read my book (Running with Scissors) but passed out in the process for 2 hours or so. Woke up, ate my penne and came to the internet cafe which now closes in 30 minutes!!!
Wow...I just wrote an essay.

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home