First Day
Today is the first day of classes. My first is at noon, Italian, until 1pm, and I have photography from 4:30-7:30. I have to get a notebook before Italian from the carteloria (I think thats how it's spelled) - the "papershop".
I live on this tiny little street called Via della Amorino and it's right around the corner from SACI which is on Via San Antonino - about a minute or two walk. I've noticed a lot of the smaller dinky streets smell - garbage from the numerous blue lid, grey dumpsters, laundry water thrown out on the street, urine. But despite this, the streets are acutally really clean. There isn't much litter and I think I've heard a street cleaner machines scrubbing and humming away on the cobblestone.
Every now and then there will be a strong food smell which ends up making me hungry.
The markets are intimidating. They're loud, filled with people gathering around the counters ordering grams of salami and cheese or something scary (tripe). The tripe freaks me out. There are just piles of it in the glass covered counters. It kinda looks like coral but squishier. Then there's the whole dead duck or chicken..sometimes a pig. I've seen a leg of some animal (pig?) with the hair still on it. ew. Other than that and the strong smell of meat and fish, the market is a pretty cool place. The cheeses look so yummy and I just want to eat all the mozzarella i see. The veggies are cheap and juicy and delicious. The breads are amazing, however, Tuscan bread doesn't have salt in it, will find out why at my Itailian Cuisine and Culture class tomorrow night at 8pm...So if you want to know why there's no salt...tune into the next blog. :)

1 Comments:
great to read your posts - I am in for the next installment of 'why the Tuscan bread has no salt'!
Sharad
Post a Comment
<< Home